Certain laws are in place in Nevada to protect landlords and tenants. If you own a property that you rent out to tenants, you can safeguard your investment better and maintain relationships with your tenants by following these rules. By adhering to these current tenant and landlord laws in Nevada, you may also stay out of legal trouble.Habitable Dwelling Requirements
Any property manager Las Vegas residents rent from must provide a living space that is suitable for living and free of certain dangers that could put tenants’ safety at risk. Some key amenities that landlords in Nevada are expected to provide include:
- Running water
- Air conditioning
- Garbage removal
- Sufficient ventilation
- Working electrical outlets and wiring
To keep tenants as safe as possible, Nevada law also requires landlords to take measures to prevent bed bugs and mold growth.
Written Lease Requirement
In Nevada, a landlord is required to provide a lease agreement in writing if the rental period is expected to exceed 12 months. If you plan to rent to a tenant for less than this period, you should still write up a lease agreement and have the tenant sign it to give you better legal protection if any disputes with the agreement arise during the rental term.
Rent Increase Notice
Raising the cost of rent may be necessary if you need more money for maintenance costs, property taxes or other expenses that are involved in managing your property, but you’ll need to give your tenants enough notice in advance. If you plan to increase the rent cost for any “at-will” tenant who makes monthly rent payments, a 45-day notice must be issued before the increase takes effect. Tenants who pay rent more often than monthly must be given 15 days of notice before the rent is raised.
The state has enacted an eviction moratorium that covers tenants who meet certain criteria. This eviction suspension was put into place to keep people who have suffered financial losses related to the COVID-19 pandemic from losing their homes because of an inability to pay rent. The law covers tenants who have experienced a substantial loss of income because of a reduction in work hours or significant out-of-pocket medical expenses. If a single tenant earned less than $99,000 in income for the calendar year 2020 or is expected to earn less than this amount in 2021 and is unable to pay the full rent amount, the eviction moratorium can protect them from becoming homeless.
Security Deposit Authorization
A Summerlin property management overseer or any other landlord or property management company in the state of Nevada is authorized by law to collect a security deposit from each tenant. This security deposit can be used to pay for any damages that a tenant may have left in a unit upon vacating the premises at the end of the lease agreement. If you want to collect a security deposit from any tenant who you wish to rent to, the total cost of the deposit can’t be greater than an equivalent of three months of rent. If the tenant qualifies to have their security deposit returned after they have agreed to vacate the premises with proper notice, the deposit must be returned within 30 days after the tenant has moved.
Appliances or other amenities inside a rental unit may stop working because of normal wear and tear or mechanical malfunctions. Damage to building structures could also occur for various reasons. If a tenant brings a problem in their unit to your attention that requires any repair work to resolve, you must take action within 48 hours. If you think that you’ll have difficulty tending to the repair work in such a short timeframe, a property management company can work with you to ensure that all repairs are completed without delays.
Tenant Property Requirements
In addition to the rental unit itself, your tenants are required by law to keep any amenities that are provided to them clean, and the amenities must be used for their intended purposes. The plumbing and kitchen appliances are among the items that tenants are expected to keep clean in their units. If a tenant leaves behind any personal property after moving out, you are required to store it safely for up to 30 days and then may get rid of it in any manner that you choose if the tenant has not returned to reclaim their property after 30 days.
Whether you plan to rent to a tenant on a short-term or long-term basis, you’ll want to be mindful of these laws and stay updated on any law changes so that you can keep yourself and your tenants happy and better protected. Adhering to these laws can make your time as a landlord much more worthwhile and less risky.
You may also be asking yourself, “Where can I find a property manager near me to help me oversee my rental property?” The Mor Group is an established Las Vegas property management company that can help you tend to all your landlord responsibilities, and you can learn more by visiting www.themorgroup.com.